Last week – The job fair and buggy rolls

(Note: This was meant to be up last weekend but ‘something came up’… sorry! :P)

So the past week has been really busy for me.. I went home for Eid break and so was dumped with a bunch of projects and assignments when I was back.

To add to that, they had massive companies like Apple, Google and Adobe (and many many others) come over for job fairs (3 days long for business and technical majors). So that means I was suited up for three days straight! My feet were begging for mercy because of the amount of walking I did in my new formal shoes!

The second thing that happened was the Buggy Rolls. Now for those of you who don’t know, CMU-Pitt has this crazy yearly tradition of doing buggy races – check out this link to see what a race looks like: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gkh9gI26bVU&feature=fvst

Yes, the ‘drivers’ are people that are actually inside the buggies! It’s pretty intense stuff if you ask me.

So I joined in as a mechanic, the people who actually design and build the buggies from scratch. I learned a lot of cool stuff, but buggy is a very secretive business. So secretive, in fact, that there are things that were covered in the workshop that we’re not allowed to see until the older guys feel like it! And the pushers and drivers aren’t allowed in the workshop or ask about how we do stuff either.

Mechanics meet up every Saturday and Sunday for ‘Rolls’, where their buggies are test-driven on the track every weekend up to Spring Carnival when they have the actual race. They have to come in 3 hours before rolls to set up a tent, bring the buggies in, and do all the super-secret things before rolls start! We come in every weekend from 4am and stay until 10am, it’s crazy! I would talk about all the stuff that happens in rolls but it might get a bit lengthy. I’ll post up a slideshow from my rolls sometime this week as well. Until then, stay safe everyone!

About Zaid

Hello, my name is Zaid Haque. I’m an Information Systems Sophomore doing a Minor in Communication Design over at the Carnegie Mellon campus in Pittsburgh.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

